CFP: Victorian Studies

Victorian Studies conferences are always fun, and this year's NAVSA is in Montreal, which makes it that much more fun. Last call for papers:

'Scale and Perspective'

- Regenia Gagnier (University of Exeter)
- Bernard V. Lightman (York University)
- Herbert Tucker (University of Virginia)

The North American Victorian Studies Association invites proposals for its upcoming conference in Montréal on any topic related to the conference theme of Scale and Perspective. What are the implications of these thematic categories as explored in relation to the concerns of aesthetics, ethics, geography, history, literature, philosophy, politics, science and technology? Possible conference threads include: literary form; genre and scale; critical perspective; sensory experience; narrative point of view; travel and distance; globalization; colonial knowledge; industrialization; urbanization; miniatures; models; architecture; natural wonders; perspective in painting; readership and publishing; the individual and the crowd; technologies of perception; manufacture; expanding political participation; the archive; the Victorian sublime; the other-worldly; railroads; new speeds of being; a child’s perspective; the animal’s point of view; geological and cosmological time scales; and how conceptions of scale and perspective altered across the period.

- Proposals for individual papers or member-organized panels should be submitted electronically to as an attachment in .doc or .pdf format.
- Proposals for individual papers should be two pages (max. 500 words) with a one-page curriculum vitae and must be received by 15 March 2010.
- Proposals for member-organized panels should present a clear rationale for the papers’ collective goal and include the following: title of panel, 250-word description of panel, name and one-page CV of session organizer, paper proposal and one-page CV for each presenter as required for individual papers. Panel proposals must be received by 1 March 2010.

For more information:

Jason Camlot, Michael Eberle-Sinatra, and Monique Morgan

Conference Committee:
Brigitte Boudreau, Dennis Denisoff, Tara MacDonald, and Douglas Peers


Popular Posts